top of page

Life of a Zookeeper Intern

So this is my first ever blog post so I apologize in advance. I decided for my first post I would tell you what is is like as a keeper assistant intern at a zoo here in Greenville. I started my internship back in February 2016 and it has been an amazing experience! Although not the most glamorous of jobs I wouldn't trade it for the world. If you are thinking of being a zoo keeper then there is one thing you need to be prepared for...it is pretty much 75% cleaning up poop...yep that is right poop. I would say most of my day is cleaning up poop. I feel like when people think of zoo keepers they think that they play with animals all day but sadly this is not the case. Now don't get me wrong I still get to interact with the animals but I don't get to go around cuddling all the fluffy animals. There are multiple sections at the zoo I intern at (Africa, Asia, reptiles, etc.) and I have worked in all of them and it is hard to chose a favorite. I would say the one I spend the most time in is reptiles. I will say one of my favorite experiences so far has been with the giraffes. About the time i started there a new giraffe was born and I got to watch it grow. It was always shy so I never got to get close but one day when we were out in the yard I was holding some bamboo and this baby giraffe came up and started eating from it. It was something that not very many people get to experience and it makes all the poop scoping worth it! I look forward to going to the zoo every week and seeing what I get to experiance! I hope to one day to become an actual zoo keeper!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page